Women's Prize for Fiction

The winner of the 2013 Women’s Prize for Fiction has been announced – A. M. Homes, American author with her sixth novel, May We Be Forgiven.

May We Be Forgiven was ultimately chosen from the following shortlist:

Womens Prize Shortlist - News Item (2)

The prize is a cheque for £30,000 and a bronze statue known as ‘Bessie’. Bessie was created by the artist Grizel Niven.

The Bessie

Described by the Chair of Judges, Miranda Richardson as “a dazzling, original, viscerally funny black comedy – a subversion of the American dream.” She added that “This is a book we want to read again and give to our friends.” Reason enough for me to rush out and buy a copy right now!

More breaking news: This week, the Women’s Prize for Fiction, formerly the Orange Prize for Fiction, has announced a new partnership with Bailey’s. From 2014 the Women’s Prize for Fiction will be known as the ‘Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction’.