Though I have yet to write one, ghost stories have long been one of my favourite genres to read. Who doesn’t want to be scared out of their wits?! Smile

My love affair with them began when I was a child, losing myself in the terrifying worlds encapsulated in the Armada series of ghost stories. Do you remember them? That was when I learned the meaning of the term “spine-tingling” and how nightmares could invade your waking hours. Aaahhhh!”

Nowadays when I fancy a little shiver and chill, I turn to authors like Sarah Waters, who penned the incredibly creepy novel The Little Stranger, a story which had me glued to the page until the very last sentence. Highly recommended! All I shall tell you here is that nothing much happens in any given chapter and yet the tension and fear mounts as the story rolls on relentlessly, ones fear growing in tandem with the author’s words, her mastery of the medium evident in every move, every change of scene. Marvellously terrifying! I couldn’t sleep properly for weeks after reading it! SmileWhat better recommendation can one get for a ghost story?!

 

And, of course, can we mention ghost stories without referring to the contemporary author who has carried the frisson and eery atmospherics of ghost writing to a whole new generation, who else but Susan Hill, author of The Woman in Black, The Small Hand and most recently Dolly.

Ghost Stories and How to Write Them

Which brings me to the point of this post! Recently I interviewed the wonderful Kath, blogger supreme over on Womag Writers. [You can read the interview here.] You may remember that Kath has just published her latest book in e-form, Ghost Stories and How to Write Them which is available from Amazon. This lovely book contains ten of Kath’s own spooky ghost stories along with her writerly advice on how to pen one of your own. If you want to learn how to do it right, pick up a copy of Kath’s book!

Ghost story competition

Then, when you’ve terrified yourself with your own dastardly imagination, enter the following competition The Fiction Desk Ghost Story Competition 2013. Entries should be between 2,000 and 5,000 words. Closing date is 31 May 2013, and there are even prozes for the winning entries – £500 for Fist Prize and £100 for Second. Entry fee is £6 for one story or £9 for two. To find out more, click here.

Happy ghost hunting!

