Fabulous blogger Brenda Moguez tagged me recently to write a little about my five favourite books and then, in turn, to tag another set of bloggers, all writers and purveyors of wonderful words of writerly wisdom. Do check them out and keep an eye out for their personal lists of scintillating novels!

Brenda’s blog can be found here along with her perfectly executed and argued reasons (excuses?!! J)for why she hasn’t posted her list quite yet! But one thing is certain – when Brenda does write it, you won’t want to miss her take on what are sure to be a collection of unmissable titles! And while you’re checking Brenda’s blog out, be sure to scroll back in time and read as many of her posts as you can. I promise that you won’t be disappointed!

And now for my five favourite novels of all time:

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy: Quite simply the most perfect novel ever written and the litmus test against which I measure all novels……

Middlemarch by George Eliot: Almost comparable to Anna Karenina, but just not quite; matches Tolstoy for depth and insight in places, but then flings it all away at the end. I wanted to throw the book away when I first read Eliot’s finale; she ought to have been re-written those final chapters!

The Winter Vault by Anne Michaels [See my review here.]

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant: The first ‘women’s fiction’ genre novel I ever read which started me off on a whole new reading journey, different from the classics I had been steeped in before. I used to be slagged by my family for never reading anything but ‘old’ books but when I showed them a copy of this novel as proof that I too could read contemporary novels, their response was, ah yes, but look at the time it’s set in….hard to win!

The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters: Oh so atmospheric. Lots of readers found it a bit slow but I felt the slow pace added to the sense of anticipation and mounting anxiety and fear; great ghost story!

Blogs I tagged. Keep a close eye on these wonderful writers and be inspired!

-Judith Newton, Tasting Home

-Tracy Fells, The Literary Pig

-Julie Christine, Chalk the Sun

