I’ve been tagged by the lovely Michele Berger to be part of the blog hop ‘My Next Big Thing’. Thank you Michele! SmileThe requirements are simple – answer 10 questions, as below, and then tag some writers.

The first bit is easy, the second a little more difficult as more and more writers and bloggers are becoming increasingly tired of being tagged. Sometimes I must admit that it is hard to know how to react to being tagged. Yes, it is a pleasure and an honour (of sorts), but on the other hand it is a wee bit of a pain, as well as being somewhat time consuming, to have to find another set of bloggers eager and interested in picking up the baton! There is also the conundrum of laying the pressure of doing the same again on some other blogger’s unsuspecting lap!

So to resolve this issue I am opening this blog tag up to you, my readers, and asking if any of you would like to talk about the writing project you are working on at the moment. If any of you wish to pick up the baton please leave a note in the comment section below. Today is the 29 November. Judith is on tomorrow 30 November, so that leaves the dates from 1st December to the 4 December free for whoever wants to tell the rest of us about your Next Big Thing! I for one, would love to read all about it! [The rules for participating are posted at the end of this post.]

1. What is your working title of your book?

-Fisherman’s Blues.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

From a short story I wrote which I then used as a wip for a workshop with Jodi Henley. Jodi suggested that it might work as a novel.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

-Romance writing.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

– Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

-When Laura returns home and recognizes the eyes of her former lover in her best friend’s son, she is left reeling from the double betrayal, and vulnerable to the tactics of a big developer who is pushing her to sell her yarn shop to him.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

-I will be submitting it to a specific publishers who I have targeted it for.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

-Well a couple of weeks for the short story version, then a month of tinkering as part of Jodi Henley’s wonderful online workshop, and then finally I took Jodi’s advice and wrote the first draft of my novella for NaNoWriMo. The objective of NaNoWriMo and the word count required for pocket novels dovetailed perfectly!

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

-Oh I wouldn’t dare compare my first attempt with any others, but I can say that I am aspiring to write Pocket Novels for the likes of The People’s Friend.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

-I love romance and have done ever since I was a teenager. I used to read my mother’s Woman’s Weekly magazines and would rush home from school every Thursday to get my ration of passion, as I used to call it!

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

-A lovely novelist by the name of Juliet Greenwood advised me to begin my writing career with short stories and pocket novels. She started out this way and last year published her first novel, a wonderful saga beautifully told. I have the outline of a saga type novel in my head and already the characters are clamouring to be heard, to be written down. When I complete my revisions on Fisherman’s Blues I hope to get down to writing of my novel. However I have found the writing of pocket novel romances to be so addictive that I might just start another!

Now it’s time for me to introduce you to one of my favourite writers and bloggers, who really is ‘The Next Big Thing’:

Ta-dah…drum roll please….

It is my greatest pleasure to introduce the wonderful Judith Newton who blogs over at http://tasting-home.com/ and whose latest book Tasting Home: Coming of Age in the Kitchen will be published by She Writes Press early in 2013.

So if you think you’d be interested in sharing your work-in-progress with the rest of us then read on! Just add your name to the comments section below, stating your interest and the date you wish to join in [between 1 – 4 December]with the blog hop and write on! Smile

All you do is post the answers to the below ten questions on your blog/website the week of Nov 26 (whichever day you choose) and then tag 5 other authors to go the following week. They link back to your blog/site when they post theirs. Here’s the info I got:

Rules of the Next Big Thing

***Use this format for your post

***Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (work in progress)

***Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:

What is your working title of your book?

Where did the idea come from for the book?

What genre does your book fall under?

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged. When you’ve written your post and queued it up, send me the dedicated URL/permalink so that I have it for my post to link your upcoming one. There’s no need for you to give me the names of the people you’re inviting. Just go ahead and invite people to participate on the week after your post runs. You include their links and also include mine as the person who invited you.

Here are a couple of examples of the Next Big Thing blog:

http://www.christyenglish.com/2012/09/26/the-next-big-thing-find-out-what-im-working-on-next/

http://lauradrakebooks.com/myblog.php?s=the-next-big-thing-what-im-working-on-next

