Tags

, ,

Day 1 of the rest of my life:

Why now? Why today?

I can’t answer that question, except to say that I have been considering setting up a writing blog for some time. It’s not that I haven’t particiapted in blogs before, or even that I haven’t had blogs which were linked into a network of supporting blogs before – this I have done, thanks to the wonderful writing teacher and mentor Heather Blakey of  Soul Food Cafe:

http://www.dailywriting.net/

With Heather’s writing prompts and encouragement I began to write as a daily habit. I remember that first summer back in 2007 when I carried my notebook and pen everywhere I went, jotting down any ideas or inspiring thoughts which came to me. My journal and I became inseparable. Each morning I rushed to the computer to turn it on and read the latest words penned by my writing companion. We shared our work, we encouraged each other, urging one another to keep writing.

Time went by and I drifted away. Family life demanded more of my attention. But all the while a little voice inside kept whispering in my heart, reminding me of how it used to be, teasing me and leaving me feeling increasingly restless and dissatisfied.

Then, one day, my eldest daughter presented me with a beautiful mug with an image of Virginia Woolf’s book A Room of One’s Own upon it. I loved that mug, I loved everything it represented. It has been over 35 years since I first read Woolf’s call to arms for women, but holding this cup in my hands brought back all the dreams, the wishes, the yearnings, until it seemed as if I was drowning in a sea of longings. Enough!

The house is full of family and clothes and books and things. There is hardly a space anywhere that I can call my own, nevermind a room. But I can create a blog and this is it. And in honour of the author whose words continue to inspire me, I am calling this virtual space A Room of My Own.

Welcome to my room!

